She thanked me coz she’s mad

So there I was
Lamenting to the rain

Complaining about speed traps
and money racket penalties

I wasn’t 12 paces from
The office I had just left
When the usual ‘incompetence dread’
Descended

Writing shitty brochures in my head
Trying too hard as usual
That mask, again
Lest it be known I haven’t a clue really

And then it came
A thank you, unexpected
I knew for what
It even occurred to me to deserve it

So it lingered a while
And I smiled
Amused by how easy it is
To truly be of value
But how difficult I make it

Before the thought came
Ah, but she’s mad that one

Leave a Reply

